VIRTUAL EVENT: Parasite in the Context of Covid-19: A Virtual Long Table - May 29 at 7pm Eastern from 21st Century Arts | Beyond the Nest (Rochester)

VIRTUAL EVENT: Parasite in the Context of Covid-19: A Virtual Long Table - May 29 at 7pm Eastern from 21st Century Arts


*The event has already taken place on this date: Fri, 05/29/2020
The re-imagined “Parasite” Long Table event is rescheduled on May 29 at 7 pm. The participants will “meet” at a virtual Zoom table and it will be streamed live on Facebook live.

The global COVID-19 pandemic has illuminated pre-existing race and class disparities in the United State of America and, in some ways, exacerbated them. At the Long Table, we will discuss the movie “Parasite” and use it as a frame or device in which to talk about the reality of the two or more America’s further revealed in this time of crisis.

The diverse panel of women of color Long Table participants* will include:

-Christina H. Lee, who is a professor of cultural anthropology at Monroe Community College and works in MCC’s Global Education and International Services.
-Tonya-Noel Stevens, co-founder of Flower City Noire Collective and director at Cause and Effect Greenspace. She is an environmental justice activist.
-Greta Niu, director of grants at Planned Parenthood of Central and Western New York. A former professor, she is an Asian film and media expert.
-Tania Day-Magallon, a visual artist and arts educator as well as recent American citizen and immigrant from Mexico.
-Dr. Irma McClaurin, an Activist Anthropologist and founder of the Black Feminist Archive at University of Massachusetts-Amherst.
-Rachel Y. DeGuzman, an Artivist who founded and produces “At the Crossroads: Activating the Intersection of Art and Justice” initiative.

It is not possible for "At the Crossroads" to screen the movie on Facebook live. But Long Table attendees viewing experiences will be enriched by watching the movie prior to the event. "Parasite" can be rented or purchased online. It is also included with a Hulu subscription (free trials are available).

Click here to get to the long table discussion

a few minutes before 7pm EDT / 6pm CDT / 5pm MDT / 4pm PDT / 3pm AKDT


*Times, dates, and prices of any activity posted to our calendars are subject to change. Please be sure to click through directly to the organization’s website to verify.

Location:

ONLINE ONLY
Online
Online, NY, .
United States
Contact name: 
Carol White Llewellyn
Email address: 
The event has already taken place on this date: 
05/29/2020
Time: 
7pm EDT / 6pm CDT / 5pm MDT / 4pm PDT / 3pm AKDT